You are hereFrequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions


Yes, we do!
Stop by and see our selection. We can discuss the options for you to obtain your tax stamp that allows you to possess a silencer.

The simple answer is, it will still be illegal for a user of marijuana or any other Federally controlled substance to purchase, posess, or transfer firearms or ammunition.

The ATF has been very clear on this and here is a link to the open letter to FFL's.

http://www.atf.gov/files/press/releases/2011/09/092611-atf-open-letter-t...

Effective July 1, 2013 Colorado has a 15 round magazine capacity limit. Any magazines that you owned prior to July 1, 2013 are “grandfathered” and you may still possess them, unfortunately you can NOT transfer them to another Colorado resident. It is also illegal for you to acquire a magazine that exceeds the 15 round limit and bring it into the state.

The current demand for all “rim fire” ammunition is greater than the manufacturers are able to provide, many manufacturers are telling us that at current demand levels it could be two to three years before you see a continuous supply on the shelves at your favorite gun shop.

That is a qualified YES!
We are regularly receiving small quantities of .22lr. Of that shipment we allocate a percentage to sell with the purchase of a .22 firearm and the rest goes on the shelves in front for general sale. By allocating a portion of the 22"s we are able to ensure that you will be able to shoot your new firearm and won't be searching all over town for ammo.

1. To purchase a hand gun you need to be 21 years of age or older and be a resident of Colorado.
2. A valid state issued picture ID.
3. A government issued document with your name and current address if your ID doesn't have the correct address on it. Example: hunting or fishing license, vehicle registration, voter registration, property tax statement or municipal water bill.
4.Be able to pass the background check. No felony or domestic violence convictions.
5.There are some special circumstances for active duty military, please call (303) 420-GUNS (4867) if you are active duty military.
BELOW IS A PDF OF THE BACKGROUND CHECK FORM...

AttachmentSize
atf-f-4473-1.pdf71.63 KB

1. To purchase a long gun you need to be 18 years of age or older and be a resident of Colorado or a contiguous state.
2. A valid state issued picture ID.
3. A government issued document with your name and current address if your ID doesn't have the correct address on it. Example: hunting or fishing license, vehicle registration, voter registration, property tax statement or municipal water bill.
4.Be able to pass the background check. No felony or domestic violence convictions.
5.There are some special circumstances for active duty military, please call (303) 420-GUNS (4867) if you are active duty military.
BELOW IS A PDF OF THE BACKGROUND CHECK FORM...

AttachmentSize
atf-f-4473-1.pdf71.63 KB

Yes, we have access to the vast majority of firearm lines and are happy to check availability with our vendors for the firearm you are looking to acquire.

Yes, we offer lay-away at no additional charge.

You need to be 18 or older to purchase long gun ammo and 21 or older to purchase hand gun ammo and you need to have a valid picture ID.

We currently offer a 4 hour class that meets the Colorado requirement to apply for your Concealed Handgun Permit.
Click here for details: http://parkerarms.com/category/topic/classes
We are working on some ideas for other classes.

You should field strip and clean your firearm after every use. If you are carrying this firearm daily you should clean it once a month even if it hasn't been fired to remove dust and dirt that accumulate. This will ensure that your firearm functions correctly should you need it.

Yes, we offer a basic clean and lube service as well as a full disassemble, clean, oil and assemble. Both services include function and safety checks.

Sorry, but we do not have a range. We are able to “test fire” your firearm when it is in for service to verify correct function.

At the present time we don’t have a way of renting firearms but we are still trying to figure out a way.

Yes, but before you buy from one of the many online sellers, contact us and we may be able to get you a comparable deal without the hassle of the online process. Plus we are here in person to support your purchase.

Yes, you will need a Federally Licensed Firearms dealer on the other end willing to receive the firearm. That FFL will need to provide us a copy of their license for us to legally ship the firearms. You will need to have a valid state issued picture ID for us to receive your firearm. The fee is $30 per firearm plus shipping, insurance and adult signature fees.

Yes, we regularly purchase good condition, quality firearms. You will need a valid state issued picture ID for us to purchase your firearm. We must also file a secondhand property form with the Wheat Ridge Police Dept.

Unfortunately we can’t resell ammunition so we can’t purchase your old ammo. If you have some old ammo that you want destroyed we will do that for you at no charge.

Yes, we regularly take consignments of good condition, quality firearms.

You should always verify the caliber or gauge of the firearm you are using by checking the stamping on the firearm. If you have any question about the caliber, bring the firearm by and we can assist you in determining the proper ammo. Always check the headstamp on your ammo to make sure it matches your firearms. Never use ammo that appears to have corrosion or other defects. Most firearm manufacturers don’t warranty their firearms if you are using reloads or sub-standard ammo. You will find using factory fresh ammo will give you good performance and consistent cycling while not causing damage to your firearm.

We are getting regular shipments of most centerfire rifle, handgun and shotgun ammo. Manufacturers are limiting the number of SKUs they are producing to help relieve the back-orders on their most popular loadings.

In 2013 the Colorado legislature passed a law requiring “Universal Background Checks”, in that law they included a fixed fee of $10 for FFL’s to charge for the service. Unfortunately that doesn't cover our cost of conducting the check and all the paperwork associated with the transfer so we have decided not to conduct private transfers.

Yes, we can provide a written appraisal for insurance or estate purposes.
We charge an hourly rate of $60 for this service.
Call (303) 420-GUNS (4867) for details.